The Liberation of Kate

I’m freeing myself from the chains that bind me. Despite my competitive desire to always overachieve, I’m going to bow out gracefully with a second place status of Lorelai. No, I’m not talking about the Biggest Loser competition on base, though I won’t likely win that unless I put a donut trail that leads into a deep, dark, inescapable ditch. I’m talking about the Gilmore Girls Reading Challenge. That’s it, I’m done, I can’t take anymore. It’s not that I didn’t enjoy the books, it’s that I hate being bogged down by these particular picks. I’m not in the mood to finish Sophie’s Choice right now, and I’m not medicated enough to think that Catch-22 makes any sense whatsoever. So that’s it, I’m done. I found a lot of the books at the used book store and I’ll get around to reading them, but I’ll read them on my own time, thank you very much. So here’s the last count…

  • Jane Austen: Pride & Prejudice
  • Emily Bronte: Wuthering Heights
  • Charle Dickens: Great Expectations
  • DH Lawrence: Lady Chatterley’s Lover
  • F. Scott Fitzgerald: Tender is the Night
  • Margaret Mitchell: Gone with the Wind
  • George Orwell: 1984
  • JD Salinger: The Catcher in the Rye
  • Kurt Vonnegut: Slaughterhouse Five
  • F. Scott Fitzgerald:  The Great Gatsby
  • Joseph Heller: Catch 22   (I read 50 pages before giving up)
  • William Faulkner: The Sound & the Fury
  • Anthony Bourdain: Kitchen Confidential
  • William Gibson: The Miracle Worker
  • Jack Kerouac: On the Road
  • Jeffery Eugenides: The Virgin Suicides
  • Henry Farrell: What Happened to Baby Jane?
  • William Styron: Sophie’s Choice  (I’m over halfway through this, but I’m just not in the mood.  The suspense is killing me.  WTH happens?  What is her choice?  I know it has something to do with her kid (s?) and I keep having flashbacks of Meryl Streep on the tv when I was young.
  • Nick Hornby: High Fidelity
  • Erich Segal: Love Story  (I can’t get the song out of my head!)

So that’s it, I’m done.  I’ve got a virtual stack of books I want to read at Goodreads, and I’m looking forward to reading what I feel like, when I feel like.  I’ve read so many books this year, but they just weren’t on the list.  So my challenge for 2011 will be simple:  Read and review 25 books.  I’ll read way more than that, but it’s the reviewing that becomes tedious for me.  So I’ll start out small and go on from there. 

Ahh, liberation feels great.  I’ve already read two books this week to celebrate the freedom. 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Who
    Nov 02, 2010 @ 13:47:57

    Ha ha KP, that sounds like something I would do. Minus the book reviews. I am finding that I want to go into books knowing very little, this way I have no expectations and let the writer truly guide me through the story if they can.

    You did read a great number of them though, I have more than half of your list in my own library.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

