Book Review: The Boleyn Inheritance

I read The Other Boleyn Girl about a year ago and despite my disinterest in historical fiction totally loved it.  When I was at the library a couple of weeks ago I saw The Boleyn Inheritance audio book and picked it up.  What a fun book to listen to.  The narration was done by three different women and their voices really bought the characters to life.  I definitely recommend this book to anyone that enjoys a little scandal and an overall quick read.  I have never been a fan of period pieces, I don’t give two craps about the Tudors or any of that jazz, but Phillipa Gregory writes very interesting stories about the women in King Henry’s royal court and the tyrannical whims that Henry himself committed against them.  Gregory adds a depth to these historical figures and offers up insight into their behavior in history.  I’m not a “story spoiler” so all I can say is read it yourself, particularly the ladies.  It’s an easy read and if you want a great audio book this is the one for you.  And it’s a little sexy, which caused me to blush on  more than one occasion on my drive into work. 

On a side note, I recently watched the movie The Other Boleyn Girl.   It was a horribly hurried adaptation of the book and I found myself saying “they glossed over all the good stuff” and while it would have been a 6 hour movie, it should have been.  There was so little detail in the movie and very little dialogue that I can’t understand how the screenplay passed muster.  I can’t say it was a bad movie; it just didn’t have an 1/8 of the substance from the book.

Leave a Reply

