They Just Keep Getting Better

My 30th birthday was spectacular in completely different ways than previous birthdays have been.  In fact, it really is true that every one of my birthdays has been remarkably different from the last but all of them have had special, simple moments to them that make me glad to be alive.

This year started out a lot earlier than years past.  (or is it passed?  In this sentence can’t both work?)   I woke up at 5:30 to go up to Baltimore with my friend Val and her adorable son Jesse to participate in the Baltimore Women’s Classic 5k.  I thought it would be a great way to start my thirties and maybe would help me get over the hump of running with knee pain.  It is fair to say that I have NEVER run in weather that unbearable-not in Maryland, not in Florida, and most certainly not even when I was out in 29 Palms with Lindsay.   It was roughly 95 degrees at 8 am when the race started and when we got to Val’s car it was 100 degrees in the shade. I did as well as I expected for not training at all, being 20 lbs overweight, and having a bum knee…but I did way better than expected for the heat!  A new phenomenon I’m experiencing is insane swelling when running and my hands blow up to two scary, unbend-able balloons, which needless to say, freaks me out a little bit.   All in all, I was very happy with the race and although I ran, jogged, walked slightly under 14 minute miles, I was elated to complete the event and hope to have many more temperate events in the future.  It was great to be with Val and Jesse and I’m so proud of Val’s first 5k, even though she is one of my arch-nemesis in the field-the gal with the stroller.  Long ago are the days when that was my only goal, not be passed by the stroller ladies.  My goal now is simply to not die on the course.

Following our race the three of us had breakfast at the Breakfast Shoppe.  Oh my goodness this place was divine, and although the air conditioning had broken, Val and I were so happy to be in the shade with a light breeze from the fan that nothing could knock us down.  Perfect breakfast and I recommend the place to anyone in the area-I’m hoping I have an excuse to go there again.

I had to rush back home to meet Mircea so we could attend our nephew Mikey’s first birthday party so I sad goodbye to my buddies and hit the open road home, listening to the end of Girl in Translation.  I arrived home to find Mircea greeting me at the door, which he doesn’t often do.  After a great birthday hug/kiss combo pack, I noticed a big inflatable shark on our back porch.  “What did you get Mikey?” I said and he said “that’s for you birthday girl”.  I have ALWAYS wanted a little blowup pool for my backyard so I could sit with my booty in the water and the cool breeze comforting me as I read my book.  And after all of the years of wanting it, my sweet, wonderful husband bought me one, set it up, and didn’t tease me for being a little girl for wanting one.  I couldn’t wait to get into it, but first we went to my in-laws for the party.  When we got home I rushed upstairs to change into my suit.  I plan on hanging out here a lot this summer-if I’m not at my in-law’s full sized wonderiffic pool. 

Chillin in my pool

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Chanel
    Jun 30, 2010 @ 09:25:16

    That’s awesome…you look so cute in your pool. The fact that you are still comfortable having fun kid moments is what makes YOU so much fun. : ) I hope your summer is awesome between your cute shark pool, in-laws pool, and awesome husband. : )

    Reply

  2. Kat Smith
    Jun 30, 2010 @ 10:29:19

    That sounds like a terrific birthday! And so much more productive than mine was – but we each celebrate differently, right? As you can see, the 30’s are nothing to be a-feared of. I found myself grinning stupidly when I read about the shark — there’s nothing wrong with indulging in some innocent whims from time to time! I’m glad it was so much fun for ya 🙂

    Reply

  3. Who
    Jul 02, 2010 @ 14:06:48

    What I find hilarious is that now you can ruin books/magazines both in the bathtub and now in the shark pool.

    Go Katey Pooh!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

