EnvironMENTAL Katey Pooh

I have not been the dedicated blogger as of late. I’ve been doing a fair amount of travel for work, and have been having internet connectivity issues at home, so I haven’t had a lot of time to blog. I’m waiting for someone to meet me to fix my work computer, so I have a couple of minutes and thought I’d try to put together a blog post.

A lot has happened inside my little head the last couple of weeks. I have officially become incensed over the environment and I’m afraid that I’m going to grow out my armpit hair and join the Peace Corps and get some Birkenstocks. This all started when I watched Who Killed the Electric Car? I have enraged. Fuming. Crazy with emotion. MAD. Why do I live in a country (or a world for that matter) that puts business decisions over ethical and environmental concerns? Why do we think that it is ok? Why do we invent technology and then destroy it because people will lose jobs and fat-cat CEOs will lose millions (and still be rich)? Why do we let certain Middle Eastern countries that I will soon be traveling to, control the prices of oil and other resources simply because we have political and business agreements with them to do so? ARGH! I’m so frustrated and I don’t know what I can do about it. I watched An Inconvenient Truth, and I feel about Al Gore, the same way I feel about Michael Moore; just tell whole truths and I’ll respect you a lot more. Let me explain. I think that both of them add their little twist to it to make it more exciting and entertaining. The truth is scary enough for intelligent individuals to decipher, so stop insulting me and just give me the facts. Is there anyone out there who wants to give the facts? Even my precious Robin Meade, who I profess my undying love to, sways the news with her own opinions sometime. Ok, back to An Inconvenient Truth. We all have total control over our environment. In the products we purchase, in the way we recycle, in our usage of resources. It can be difficult. It can be expensive, but it is SOOOOO worth it. I’ll probably start spouting more of this stuff in the future, but I want to do some research on it before I start “Michael Mooring”. I’ve also been looking at some info on the Green Party. Yeah, that’s right, little Conservative Katey Pooh is changing her ways. But the Green Party isn’t going to win any elections anytime soon so I’ll have to find an appropriate CANDIDATE-not party, to support. I believe that we should support whomever the Nation chooses as a President (that includes Dubya and Bill “Lies” Clinton) but I think we should demand better candidates and understand a little bit more about the fundraising process. Get me those Birkenstocks!

I don’t want to go on about this now, but I want a person to know that it is on my mind and it’s something that is really swaying a lot of my thoughts and decisions lately. I am once again seriously considering the purchase of a Prius, though I’d prefer we just have the electric car technology that already exists.

The take-home here: Patty, Sarah and Lindsay: I assume that you’re proud of my non-Republican ways that I’m coming into. I just want my children and grandchildren to have a place to live that isn’t run by sheiks in that country that I can’t mention because I’ll be traveling there.

Other than politics, I have a lot of things I’d like to blog about, including my new Calphalon pots that I purchased, and the cottage that is just the cutest thing ever!

Leave a Reply

